Katya Popova, Owner

Katya Popova, Owner

Hi there!

Thank you for stopping by! Welcome to my digital corner of the universe, Kaya Boutique! I started this blog with a couple of purposes in mind: to chronicle my projects and general doings in life and to give myself a structured reason to seek out new experiences in order to chronicle them - or, in other words, the good kind of catch-22... 

A little bit about me: I hail from Plovdiv, Bulgaria, the most charmingly hectic little town that also happens to be 6,000 years old. I moved to the US when I was nineteen to attend college and experience the quintessential American life. And that I did: I graduated from a lovely small school in the outskirts of Pittsburgh, PA (aka, the middle of Amish country) in 2008 with a degree in Marketing Management and minors in Studio Art and Communications.

My college experience required a fairly steep learning curve. For example, I had to quickly learn the difference between a hanger and a hangover (I persistently called my hangers hangovers for a good month... my roommates must have thought I am a true Eastern European, drinking habits included). Despite my exemplary SAT vocabulary  (gregarious is still one of my favorite words!), my every-day English was lacking (and boy, is that an understatement): the little every-day English that I knew came from a variety of American uncensored movies. Which leads me to another quick lesson upon arrival - it is really not okay to use the f-word in class (I learned that one very quickly).  

Just a bit about my family (because they mean the world to me). Mom and dad are the happy empty-nesting parents of two children: my amazing older brother (and star child by every definition), and his always overachieving little sister (me). My brother married very well and he also happens to be the parent of the most lovable nephew I could wish for. Those three live happily ever after in the happiest place on Earth: Disneyworld (aka, Orlando).

I, on the other hand, share a small Houston townhome with three of my favorite things in the world: Chewie Lewis (a now 10-year-old puppy), Rebel (the cat) and the man of my dreams... but more on that some other time! 

So, this is it in a nutshell! Thanks again for visiting and I hope you have as much fun reading my musings as I have writing them!